Packing for a year: South Korea

Last year we packed for about six months of travel (Part I and Part II here) and I thought that was an exercise in in minimalism. Now we’re packing for 12-13 months!

This time, we’ll be living where we land and can bring a large checked suitcase and a regular carry-on bag. So while now we have to pack for all four seasons, we have a little extra space. Jordan considers this the next level in a Tetris game, so he’s been very creative in coming up with ways to save space.

Before I came up with my own list of what to pack, I asked several friends that had lived there and read a few blog posts that outlined the do’s and don’ts:

And here’s some of what I’ve decided to pack:

Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 4.32.26 AM

  • set of queen-sized sheets
  • two bath towels
  • journal
  • two picture frames
  • electronics
  • two aguayos from Bolivia (these sturdy blankets can be used as tablecloths, wall hangings, or tied into carry bags)
  • two extra sticks of deodorant
  • four pairs of assorted shoes
  • one pair of slippers
  • casual clothing
  • business clothing
  • three pajamas (summer/winter)
  • six dresses (summer/winter)
  • one light jacket, one rain coat, one wool coat
  • four camisoles
  • five scarves
  • two wintry hats

Jordan’s list is very similar, though he’s bringing more business clothing and ties rather than scarves and camisoles. All in all, we have about 8-10 days worth of casual clothing and 7-9 days worth of work clothing.

Again, I’m taking a mixture of clothes that I really like and won’t mind wearing over and over, and clothes that I will be happy to discard by the end of our year there. I don’t expect to buy any shoes or many clothes while in Asia because of the size difference, so I’m bringing more than I normally would.

Toiletries:

  • Chi straightener
  • power converter for my straightener
  • makeup, oral/skin hygiene kit, and such
  • toothpaste (hopefully a year’s supply)
  • extra feminine hygiene (I keep getting conflicting messages about the availability/expense of these, so I’m being safe a bringing more)
  • medicine

Luxury items:

  • small vial of perfume
  • pillow
  • two brownie mixes and chocolate chips
  • two pumpkin pie filling cans
  • assorted tea (Earl Grey for Jordan and English Breakfast for me)

Total weight:

  • Checked bag: 50 pounds, 50 pounds, 28 pounds
  • Carryon bags: 58 pounds, 16 pounds

_MG_8219

Categories: CEV, Practical Matters, South Korea | Tags: , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Packing for a year: South Korea

  1. Thanks for sharing your packing checklist for Korea. I am going there too, but for less than a year. Hopefully will manage to take everything I may need and I can’t without. Greetings

    • You’re welcome! I hope you have a wonderful time in Korea. Now that I’ve been there for over two months, I can say that I haven’t had a problem finding feminine hygiene products, though the towels there are really the size of hand towels.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Morgan S Hazelwood

Writer in Progress

Poetry Without Words

"There is more pleasure in building castles in the air, than in the ground. "

Chesca's Travels

Traveling in South America

Unexpected Wanderlust

Seeking adventure and disorientation while examining the world

Backpack Journalist

TEY-MARIE ASTUDILLO

Grace for my Heart

Dave Orrison's thoughts on grace and more

Korea-The Final Chapter

Working, Living, Exploring in Korea.

Strolling South America

10 countries, 675 days, 38,540km

Le Voyage Extraordinaire No. 55

Sorin and Lisa's Grand Adventure

AtlasxAngela

Building my own map, one trip at a time.

Pinay Flying High

a peek into the realms of my twisted mind

blodger's Blog

This place is great mate

Jeyna Grace ©

Imagination, the perfect form of escapism.

Writing Rhetorically

Classical Rhetoric and thoughts on the world around us

Spiritual Friendship

Musings on God, friendship, relationships

shelburneadventure

Our Adventurous Life

