My end at Bartahola Norte (for now)

My time in Nicaragua is coming to a close now, and it makes me very sad. Although I miss my home, my husband, and even my cat dreadfully, I’m very disappointed that time passed so quickly. I wish I had more time to learn Spanish, to get to know new friends, and to help people at the community center. It’s only now that I feel more accustomed to the weather and that I’m really starting to get to know people. Only now are things beginning to come more easily to me.

But I do miss the US, and I am very ready to be in charge of my own home again. And my own portion sizes. I really miss that.

My last day at Bartahola Norte was Thursday, and the English class was so sweet and sorry to see me leave.

Nicaragua 001 Nicaragua 002 Nicaragua 003 I have a hard time figuring out how formatting photos will look once publish, because it looks different when posts are published. So I apologize if this looks odd.

Anyway, these are photos of the English class. Kelsey is one of the teachers that trades off days. She has been here for about eight months and will be here for a total of two years. The other two photos are of different sides of the class. There wasn’t a huge turnout, as you can see, on Thursday. About 13 showed up for class.

At the end of class, they presented me with a gift–a framed feather of the national bird, with a painting of the bird on the feather. It’s very lovely and I can’t wait to bring it home. It was such a sweet surprise.

Nicaragua 004 Some of the girls in the group. I have tutored several before class and helped all of them during class, and they have helped me somewhat in my Spanish. It’s been very gratifying to hear about improved quiz scores and see more confidence in their eyes.

Nicaragua 007The boys also, have learned a lot. I have seen progress during my month at Bartahola Norte, and it has been really great to be a part of an educational movement for students who might not otherwise have a chance for language skills or secondary learning.

I originally asked the director of the Spanish school if I could volunteer somewhere so I could get to know the people of Nicaragua as well as give back to the community. It’s been a good experience, and I’m grateful that I had the opportunity. It’s encouraged me to continue my work in education and the international non-profit sector. I would love the chance to return and do more someday!

 

Categories: Nicaragua | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Morgan S Hazelwood

Writer in Progress

Poetry Without Words

"There is more pleasure in building castles in the air, than in the ground. "

Chesca's Travels

Traveling in South America

Unexpected Wanderlust

Seeking adventure and disorientation while examining the world

Backpack Journalist

TEY-MARIE ASTUDILLO

Grace for my Heart

Dave Orrison's thoughts on grace and more

Korea-The Final Chapter

Working, Living, Exploring in Korea.

Strolling South America

10 countries, 675 days, 38,540km

Le Voyage Extraordinaire No. 55

Sorin and Lisa's Grand Adventure

AtlasxAngela

Building my own map, one trip at a time.

Pinay Flying High

a peek into the realms of my twisted mind

blodger's Blog

This place is great mate

Jeyna Grace ©

Imagination, the perfect form of escapism.

Writing Rhetorically

Classical Rhetoric and thoughts on the world around us

Spiritual Friendship

Musings on God, friendship, relationships

shelburneadventure

Our Adventurous Life

